Solo in the Church Stretton Alps   13 comments

The day after my short walk on Bryn Arw was much better.

IMG_0260

I headed for the Church Stretton Alps as I realised I hadn’t been up that way for quite a while.

IMG_0191

It was a bright and dry day if a little overcast. I started off by climbing up to Ragleth Hill. Great views over to Caer Caradoc, Hope Bowdler Hill and the distant Wrekin.

IMG_0196

Ragleth is one of the lesser known hills around these parts and is alway quiet. Its a lovely grassy high level stroll.

IMG_0199

Views across to the Long Mynd.

IMG_0200

What isn’t a stroll is its brutally steep southern end. Luckily I was heading down it this time rather than up.

IMG_0202

I wandered through the pleasant hamlet of Little Stretton, sadly too early for a lunchtime pint in one of its two cracking pubs. Ragleth Hill from the path that heads back towards Church Stretton.

IMG_0204

There is quite a bit of up and down on the retrun path to the main town. A circuit of the Church Stretton Hills is no easy day out.

IMG_0206

Cardingmill Valley.

IMG_0207

On the first day of the two week Easter holiday it was rammed, cars queuing to park up, even though it was a decidedly chilly and windy day.

IMG_0215

After crossing the valley (and one of the muddiest fields I know) it was time for the main event – the painfully steep climb to Caer Caradoc.

IMG_0216

The first part is a real lung buster but once that’s over its another wonderful high level stroll to the top.

IMG_0223

Hope Bowdler and Willstone Hills – heading that way later.

IMG_0224

The summit is an iron age hill fort and is studded with volcanic rock tors. Its a magnificent mini-mountain.

IMG_0225

Looking back down the ridge to Church Stretton.

IMG_0231

It was really windy on the top and I had to hunker down in one of the ditches with a down jacket on to keep warm. It was still March after all. However the sun was really starting to break through and the views were sensational. The Lawley, The Wrekin and the Cheshire Plain here.

IMG_0232

And over to the Long Mynd.

IMG_0238

The weather kept on improving as I walked down the steep east side and crossed another rather soggy field to climb Willstone Hill.

IMG_0242

The Lawley catching the sun and the distant Wrekin always present on the horizon.

IMG_0245

On Willstone Hill there is a small tor called the Battle Stones. Never walked to this point before so I’m glad I did.

IMG_0247

A fine foreground to the photos.

IMG_0251

The weather just better and better as I walked back towards the car over Hope Bowdler Hill.

IMG_0252

Shropshire Hills Pano.

IMG_0254

Another lovely grassy stroll along the crest of Hope Bowdler Hill.

IMG_0261

Trying hard to smile.

IMG_0262

Another pano showing the extravagant blue skies that replaced the grey ones from earlier.

IMG_0265

Caer Caradoc, now bathed in sunshine looks magnificent from this direction

IMG_0266

Church Stretton and The Long Mynd.

IMG_0268

One of the small tors on Hope Bowdler Hill.

IMG_0270

The two Clee Hills, highest and third highest points in Shropshire.

IMG_0274

The Gaer Stone.

IMG_0273

One last look at Caer Caradoc.

IMG_0276

A long day at almost 12 miles and 3000 foot of ascent but a stunner, especially the last couple of hours. A rare sunny day in a bleak and grey winter.

13 responses to “Solo in the Church Stretton Alps

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We did those 3 on our first day of our Holiday Fellowship weekend and then the Long Mynd the next day – I preferred these 3 – very spectacular! I really also wanted to do the Lawler and Stiper Stones but we didn’t get round to either before we had to come home again unfortunately. As I hated the drive down to Shropshire so much (very complicated and quite slow), I can’t see me going again sad to say. I did really like the area though…

    Like

    • The top of the Long Mynd is a bit bland but the edges and and valleys are superb walking. Including those as well as these peaks in a single day is a real challenge. The Lawley is a magnificent ridge although hard to walk out to from Church Stretton without a lot of walking on lanes. Stiperstones is also magnificent. Its an area well worth the effort to get to (easy for me to say as I only live an hour down the road!)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Another beauty!

    Like

    snappyfingers3
  3. This week I posted my climb of a month ago, of one of our taller and steeper peaks. It was a hard work. but rewarding and exhilerating. Alas, for the next 2 weeks my body said, enough is enough.

    Like

    snappyfingers3
  4. Bit of a lesser known area for walking and one I’ve not been to, some steep hills and really like the look of Caer Caradoc

    Like

  5. It looks like Church Stretton might be the perfect centre for my long anticipated holiday in Shropshire? You do a great job of selling the area, although I might baulk at 3000′ of ascent!

    Like

    beatingthebounds

Leave a comment