Wild camping in Big Country Part 3   8 comments

P4171497

Sleep comes so much easier when the wind isn’t roaring and your mind starts to imagine scenarios of tents blowing down and trying to rescue everything in the dark of night. All we had was gentle rain to soothe us. By morning it had stopped and there were tentative glimpses of sunshine. Enough to tempt us outside for breakfast. Life was pretty good in a boil in the bag sausage and then porridge kind of way

P4171482

P4171483

There was no urgency to head home so we took a walk back up towards Corrour. There was plenty of blue sky and sunshine but it was still windy high up and pretty chilly. On a whim I decided to head for the skyline to the south as it looked moderately interesting. A chance to make a summit

P4171485

TJS was less convinced by the bog and tussocks to reach it so he returned to the tent while I covered the ground more briskly than I thought

P4171488

Having crossed Creagan nan Gabhar, Sgor Mor didn’t look much, just a bare high point surrounded by heather

P4171489

I traversed over to the SW ridge and found it pleasantly rocky and a joy to climb very easily to its summit. The view became ever better as I ascended, both north to the main Cairngorm summits and south across Glenshee and Beinn a Ghlo.

P4171493

P4171494

I got my reward for making the effort as my stay on the summit coincided with a lovely sunny spell. I grinned to the sky at my good fortune and sat on a rock to ponder

P4171496

P4171498

I tried another attempt at panorama shots but I still haven’t sussed them. Either I’m moving the camera too slowly or quickly but there is always a break in them at 2/3 across. Not quite sure why. If you click on them you can see a larger version. The second one (looking south) is much better and there is a video 360 in the slideshow at the end

P4171495

P4171500

I particularly enjoyed the views to the south as I hadn’t seen much of those the previous couple of days. It reminded me of a backpack through to Bynack Lodge many years ago, a trip remembered for very heavy showers, a very scary crossing of the Geldie Burn and two days of wearing shorts when I really should have known better

P4171502

I also thought of the many bloggers who I read and enjoy who will (about now in fact) be walking through this area on the TGO challenge. If any of them are camped up near White Bridge and get a decent day they could do worse than take a trip up this fine mountain. Sitting between the bigger ranges of hills its a perfect vantage point across some wonderful wild and remote landscape

P4171503

When  I got back I was further cheered to find out it was a Corbett. It doesn’t look high enough until you realise that all the valleys are already at 500m in these parts. Didn’t make the last few hundred meters to camp through some of the deepest heather I’ve ever seen any easier but at least I had another tick on the round of Corbetts that I’ll never finish

P4171504

Cairngorms 5

All that was left was to have lunch in the sun outside the tent, pack up, and head back to the car. TJS resisting the photo call from dad to fall in for some extra blog novelty value

P4171507

The trudge down Glen Lui was just as long, perhaps a little longer with a heavy heart of great trip nearly over

P4171509

P4171510

A last look along the Lui Water and we were back at the surprisingly empty Linn of Dee car park. Best part of 50 miles walked over the 5 days which we were both well chuffed about. As we finished getting ready to leave it started snowing!

P4171511

I commented on the previous post how I look back on this trip as an adventure in challenging conditions. By Cairngorm standards it was pretty benign but when I think of the fact it was cold, windy, snowy, that we were in some remote spots, that we saw few people hiking and almost no-one wild camping the feeling of achievement grows still further. This is especially true for TJS as he still has limited mountain experience and for me as I am ultimately responsible for keeping us safe (as opposed to leaning on the experience of friends). It would have been easy to bail out to a B&B or a campsite (and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t consider it at a couple of points) but we stuck with it and got reward with some fine spells of weather, great views and for TJS one the UK’s great summits and another long trip into the mountains under his belt.

Cairngorms 6

Next years plan is already forming for more adventures. My friends that went to Arran had a good time but didn’t wild camp saying its too early in the year. What do they know! 🙂

I need to backpack while I still can as I don’t know how many I have left in me (private joke!)

8 responses to “Wild camping in Big Country Part 3

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You don’t need novelty value with photos as good as these. I still get a kick out of ascending any boiler plate slabs like those featured here as they always seem to make walking uphill feel like a real joy rather than a trudge.

    Like

    Blue Sky Scotland
    • You’ve nailed it there Bob, I love those slabby ridges, I’m sure I’ve walked loads of them but I can’t bring a specific one to mind right now, possibly one of the approaches to Liathach?

      Like

  2. Nothing better than a sunny summit! Great adventure, thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. That ‘little’ hill seems to be an amazing viewpoint and your photos are excellent.

    Like

    beatingthebounds
    • Something to be said for a small hill between bigger ones and the summit was littered with small rocky outcrops. A fine finish to the trip. Pity I can’t get those panoramas right!

      Like

  4. Just go back to read the final couple of instalments, very rewarding trip by the looks Andy, great that you stuck with it.
    Sgor Mor is well worth a visit, an excellent viewpoint.
    Was actually up that way just a few days before your Easter trip!
    http://paul.sammonds.com/sgormor17.html (still to complete the write up)

    Like

    • Thanks Paul – we had a superb if slightly chilly few days. Sgor Mor is indeed a cracking little hill with some of the most expansive views I can recall as a smaller big located between and a good distance away from other higher peaks. Looking forward to you write up so I can compare notes 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

