Funster Birthday Weekend – Trevose Head   7 comments

IMG_1746

A coastal walk today to contrast with the moorland walk of the previous day. Before that a nice little photo of our B&B

IMG_1745

We’ve walked many stretches of the coast in the neighbourhood having spent many family holidays down in Cornwall. Trevose Head is one neither of us had done so it seemed an obvious route. Winter had arrived and it was windy and bitterly cold but with a sharp clarity to the air and hopefully not too many showers. We parked up by the beach at Treyarnon Bay, one of our favourites but today we were the only car there

IMG_1747

It was a wonderful morning, crashing waves and a mix of blue skies and threatening clouds

IMG_1749

Along Constantine Bay beach and then past the very splendidly named Boobys Bay

IMG_1750

IMG_1751

IMG_1757

As you approach the headland there is another “Round Hole” where a sea cave roof has collapsed. Very impressive.

IMG_1759

IMG_1762

The walks continue around the headland and past the lighthouse

IMG_1765

IMG_1766

IMG_1770

As you round the headland the next three coves of Mother Iveys, Harlyn and Trevone Bays come into view

IMG_1773

Mother Iveys Bay is steeply shelving so the waves hit the shore close in making for a great scene of Atlantic aggression.

IMG_1775

As we approached Harlyn Bay we caught a glimpse of a seal and he played in the waves while we watched for a few minutes

IMG_1778

Onto our last beach at Harlyn

IMG_1780

I liked the contrast between the clouds the rippled sand and the seaweed covered rocks

IMG_1781

Back along the lanes to the car and with a seven mile walk I was feeling the knee strain when I got back to the car. We decided that we’d earned a lunch at the very nice cafe at the YHA, soup and cider the order of the day

trevose

We actually managed to go in the sea as well for some kayaking and body boarding fun. Unsurprisingly we had the sea to ourselves what with it being bitterly cold. I wish I’d taken my camera as after one bruising hailstorm the views were sublime.

A cracking day finished off with another meal out, this time at The Basement in Padstow and once again, wonderful food as part of an ongoing birthday treat. A sacrifice I was willing to make🙂

7 responses to “Funster Birthday Weekend – Trevose Head

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have to say The Stone Roses was on my bucket list for an awful long time, got to see them in June this year. Did not disappoint! Great tune

    Like

    • Alas I’ve never seen them live even though Manchester was my second home for a while. “Waterfall” is still one of my all time favourite tracks – I’ve used it a couple of times on my blog slide shows

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. Stunning scenery and weather. Looks really quiet too.

    Like

    beatingthebounds
    • Quiet, more than likely as it was November and bloody freezing! Have to say a winter walk along the coast in the sunshine with waves crashing takes some beating, especially when you follow it with a swanky meal in a nice restaurant.

      Like

  3. I was awake early as I’m suffering a bad dose of jet lag. The bonus is I have had a lovely catch up read of your posts from October on. What a beautiful [art of the world you live in and I love how you and your family make the most of it. We hiked for 7 days in the Alpujurra in Spain. It was a great experience, a lot of hard work but with the exceptionally dry conditions, the views were quite stark. Give me green any day. Great to see the cycling is working out and hopefully the knee won’t hold you back from your love of hiking for too long.

    Like

    • Hi Helen, sorry for the delayed reply. WordPress thought you were new to my comments so hadn’t told me you were waiting to be approved. Glad I was able to get your through some jet-lag!🙂
      We all like to stay active and enjoy the outdoors and I love writing up the trips. Its always nice to get some contrast and whilst like you I prefer greenery there are times in the UK when I long for some warm sun and blue sky!
      Off to catch up on your blog posts now

      Like

  4. Great photos. I’ve always liked coastal walks as well as hill walks as I get bored just sticking to one thing all the time. That walk looks a cracker.

    Like

    Blue Sky Scotland

Leave a Reply

