Short stroll on Mynydd Troed   8 comments

I had a lazy day planned. I’d been out for a few beers on Friday night and needed a weekend off to recover. That’s old age for you. Sunday was grey and dreary and I settled down in front of the TV for some serious couch potato action. Then the sun came out and then blue sky filled the view. Betrayed by the weather I was forced into a walk

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

I ticked the following boxes on the form. “Short walk”, “Park as high as possible”, “Isolated Summit”, “Fine Views”. Mynydd Troed was the answer

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

A day of contrasts. In the sun and out of the wind it was like summer. In the wind and shade it was still winter

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

A brutally steep ascent brings you directly to this fine summit. Views of the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons and the Wye Valley abound

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

We sat for a while on the top, pretending it was summer while we shivered. We talked long distance footpaths I recall. TJS and TBF are fans. I’m not

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

TJS was feeling a little under the weather so rather than head along the ridge we circled back down to the car

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

A short walk but a fine one under a surprisingly abundant and unforecast blue sky.

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

black mountains, brecon beacons, pengenffordd, mynydd troed, wye valley

Hangover cured, all was back in sync with the world

8 responses to “Short stroll on Mynydd Troed

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks a lovely summit, that!

    Like

  2. Looks like a cracking walk. Friday night beers – blimey! I went to a beer festival last weekend – my consumption was frankly pathetic!

    Like

    beatingthebounds
    • A very nice little mountain for a nice little walk. A Friday night out means a Saturday on the sofa for me these days. I was more than prepared for a whole weekend on the sofa until the sun came out

      Like

  3. Looks like a nice lake in one of the shots. I love the white puffy clouds, they add some definition to the sweeping views. I know what you mean about “being betrayed by the weather and forced into a walk”! I feel the same way. When the weather is bad, I don’t mind being inside but when it is beautiful out I feel guilty or that I’m wasting a good day if I’m not out hiking!

    Like

    • It’s a fine line of draw. Whilst I always feel that I should be put on the hills whatever chance I get it should never become a chore or the magic would be lost. I agree that you need clouds to make a really good landscape shot.

      Like

  4. Looks like the sort of hill I can still get up! I take it an ability to pronounce the name is not mandatory. I’m guessing the first part is pronounced “minnith”. – the second part no idea.

    Like

    • Welsh place names, I live them. I once found one in North Wales that had 15 letters and it was letter 11 when I came to the first vowel 🙂 Your pronunciation is spot on and Troed is pretty much how it sounds. Just pretend your trying to cough up a hairball and your pretty close to most Welsh Places!
      An important hill in my life as well as nice one, steep all round though. The first hill I ever climbed when I was 11. Horrid day but I was hookec

      Like

Leave a Reply

