Pottering in Mid Wales   4 comments

October half-term regulations state “a week/weekends at your parents caravan on the mid-Wales coast”. Rules are there to be broken. But not this one

TBF and the kids spend the whole week there while I get the weekends. The first weekend was spectacularly uneventful and dreary. Or at least I assume it was as I didn’t take a single photo. I have absolutely no recollection of what we did. A blank. Age related forgetfulness I’m sure I read somewhere. I can’t remember now.

The second weekend was much better. Despite the grey skies I convinced the kids a walk was in order. Consulting my trusty Jarrold Pathfinder guide I found a suitable i.e. flat – ish – walk from Devils Bridge. A very famous local attraction is Devils Bridge with some splendid waterfalls. They were splendid when I saw them as a kid but I’ve not seen them since on account of the fact you have to pay to see them. I don’t believe in paying good money to see waterfalls when I can see perfectly acceptable ones for free. No, it was the open, expansive (and free) valley of the Mynach river that feeds the falls that we were off to.

Devils Bridge is also the terminus for a rather nice narrow gauge railway. Before you ask, no I haven’t paid for a trip on that either for the kids but I did treat them to a view of steam engine from the car park

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

It’s a fine walk through fields, open hillside and a forested river valley. Pleasant if unspectacular

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

There was a threat of rain in the air all day but it managed to hold off and it was good just to be out. I didn’t get out much in September or October due to the dreary weather so this was a much enjoyed day out for me even if the kids weren’t terribly enthusiastic

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

The route out on the northern side was easy-going

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

The return on the opposite bank was, well, the opposite. Deep, very deep, bracken, bog, mud, more bracken and mud and knee-deep puddles of water. Fun.

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

Not a bad day and a valley well worth further exploration

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

We also had a nice morning stroll up Allt Wen a rather prominent and as it turns out brutally steep hill to the south of Aberystwyth.

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

Fine views made it worth the effort and once up on top it’s a very nice stroll high above the sea

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

Finally after a week of dreariness, the sun came out between the rain showers. We had a wild and windy walk on the beach before we packed to go home and prepare for winter.

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

Oh, and I found a couple of photos from a week or so later when me and TJS took a stroll in the Brecons. Weather forecast promised a fine and sunny day with a few showers. It was. For about the first hour then it started to rain. Then it rained some more and then it cleared up and was really wet. I’m not bitter

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

devils bridge, mynach valley, allt wen, aberystwyth, clarach bay

4 responses to “Pottering in Mid Wales

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And to think, some of your colleagues think you’re tight!
    The older I get, the more firmly I believe that regular scheduled annual trips to old familiar places are just about unbeatable. I’m not sure i envy you the boggy, bracken bashing, puddle wading bit of the first walk however. Allt Wen looks superb, and the light in those Clarach beach photos is amazing.
    Did we ever go walking when I went down to that neck of the woods with you? My principal recollection is of drinking too much Lambrusco by beach bonfires and of swimming in the sea. I think we walked into Aberystwyth. Perhaps.

    Like

    beatingthebounds
    • Still lots of places and walks I haven’t done round here. I have pretty much a whole lifetime of memories and what really amazes me is how little it’s changed. Your memory matches mine for those weekends, lots of beach play and swimming in very cold water in October. Happy times

      Like

  2. I think there’s something rather nice about having regular trips to places you know well, doing walks and stuff you’re familiar with. 🙂

    Like

    • Our time down here is very slow paced, we just use these weekends to take it easy. Even in bad weather its nice to chill in the van and listen to the rain on the roof. There are almost endless walks, all of them quiet and unspolit

      Like

Leave a Reply

