Tantalising Glimpse of Summer   7 comments

One  week on from deep snow and spindrift in Scotland we were back home and treated to a glorious warm spring day. TBF was away at her sisters so I informed the kids we were going out for a walk. TJS was chuffed TJF less so.

I chose my classic Hatterrall Hill walk as it’s an easy high level stroll for such a fine day. I’ve posted about this several time , the last one over Xmas a couple of years back and a post work walk a year before that. Plenty of words on those posts so just a few words and memories from the day this time:

 

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

Past the wonky church at Cwmyoy

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

Spring lambs were frolicking or in this case asleep

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

The day was warm and glorious

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

TJS strode out ahead

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

While TJF pottered along at the rear taking photos

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

Once on the summit the walking was easy and the views superb

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

We enjoyed playing with self timed photos and remote shutter releases

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

Onto Offa’s Dyke and a visit to the Trig Pillar

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

Before starting the stroll back down

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

The green fields under  blue sky and sunshine were a good deal more pleasant than in the dark in the mud

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

hatterrall hill, cwmyoy, black mountains, offas dyke

A fabulous day out just the three of us and even TJS enjoyed it more than she’d like to admit 🙂

There is still hope….

7 responses to “Tantalising Glimpse of Summer

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What? Another post already? Curse you Sherpa, I’ll catch you yet!
    Looks like another storming day. Maybe you can win TJF over after all.

    Like

    beatingthebounds
    • After much interrogation she did admit that she enjoyed the day. She seemed to enjoy taking photos and playing with my camera.

      I’m trying to get another few posts drafted so I can publish them next week (the publish on a specific date setting in WordPress never seems to work). I have my Easter trip to Aran to be all smug about and of course and astounding week in the North West coming up 🙂

      Like

      • “(the publish on a specific date setting in WordPress never seems to work)”
        Oh – I’ve always just assumed that it did. I don’t generally have the where-withal to check. Didn’t I surprise you when we visited, by apparently publishing something?

        Like

        beatingthebounds
        • You gave me the idea last year. I think it might have worked once but never again. I think I can publish from the WordPress App on the iPad so I’ll try that

          Like

  2. I just love that wonky church – must visit that when we finally manage to get down your way 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

