Somewhere New? The Begwyns   4 comments

More rain over New Year but another day of morning rain followed by a promising afternoon. I needed another quick jaunt close by. I recalled mention by James over at Backpackingbongos that The Begwyns were rather fine although I had no idea where they were. A quick look at the map revealed they were close by (just north of Hay on Wye), low in height and high in car parking – perfect!

I parked at the eastern end and planned an easy out and back to the high point. By the time I set off the morning deluge had been replaced with glorious clear sky and stunning low angled winter sunshine. The way it lights up the bracken and grass is mesmerising, more than making up for the lack of flowering colour at this time of year

The Begwyns, black mountains

The views north to the mysterious Gladestry and Llanbedr and Glascwm hills and south to the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons were stupendous

The Begwyns, llanbedr hill, glascwm hill, gladestry hill

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The ground underfoot was completely sodden but I fair glided across the grass. There is something just smugly satisfying about a dramatic change in weather and the good fortune to be able to take advantage of it.

The Begwyns, llanbedr hill, glascwm hill, gladestry hill

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

There are numerous small humps and bumps and I wandered with no particular direction taking in whatever I felt like, figuring I could vary the route on the way back by taking in some slightly different humps and bumps. The close cropped grass is excellent for such a stroll and the whole area would make a wonderful warm place for a laze on the grass (in fact we did just that last weekend up here – post to follow – well, whenever!)

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The Begwyns, black mountains

The crowning point of the Begwyns is a patch of pine trees completely surrounded by a stone wall. Called The Roundabout it’s not clear what it’s for or why it’s there. There was a information board but no mention of it. If anyone out there knows it’s history I’d appreciate some insight

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The Begwyns, black mountains

I wandered about snapping photos but the clouds were rolling in again and light was fading. I pushed on back to the car taking in the fantastic light and some lovely reflections of the ponds to the south.

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The Begwyns, Mynydd Troed

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The Begwyns, black mountains

It was pretty much dark as I reached the car.

The Begwyns, The Roundabout

The continuing theme of short afternoons over New Year continued and I was quite enjoying it. Nice to have a long lazy lie in and still get out for a walk – sometimes I wonder if I’m cut out for the big mountain days 🙂

4 responses to “Somewhere New? The Begwyns

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cracking hill with little effort eh?

    Like

    backpackingbongos
    • Certainly was, and little known. I was up there a couple of weekends back in the warm sunshine and only saw a handful of people. Perfectly situated for expansive views. Straight into my top list of favorite places, amazing I’d never heard of it till I read yours post and even then took me several months to get round to a visit

      Like

  2. Beautiful as the sun settles down over the lake.

    Like

Leave a Reply

