Childhood revisited on Kinver Edges   6 comments

When I was a kid back in the Black Country, visits to Kinver Edge was a regular trip especially on warm summer evenings. We took a stroll around a familiar route through the Heathland. It was always sunny and warm (or perhaps more to the point my parents never really went outdoors in the rain) and often we would picnic on the grass. Each walk finished off with a drink and crisps/chocolate in the local pub, The Olde White Hart. I remember it well as the Beer Garden had small model windmills and houses and running water. In those days kids never, and I mean never, went into pubs. We were often left outside to play while the adults had a beer. There was always an “outdoor” a sort of serving hatch where you could buy pop and crisps and such like so we fended for ourselves. They were happy carefree times 🙂

I go back for a stroll whenever I visit my parents in Kidderminster and I no doubt always tell the kids the same stories I’ve just told you, losing myself in the reverie of formative years. I always enjoyed a walk and perhaps that gave me the interest in the outdoors and walking that I have today (the rest of my family are somewhat sedentary in nature!).

We took a wander between the showers over Xmas so a few photos of bare winter trees and storm clouds to give you a sense of what I used to enjoy.

Kinver Edges

We were going to take a look at the famous rock houses carved out of the sandstone but they were closed for the season. When I was a kid they were derelict but you could at least wander in and out of the caves at will (they are owned and maintained by the NT these days).

Kinver Edges, Rock Houses

Kinver Edges, Rock Houses

Kinver Edges

Kinver Edges

Much of the area was covered in pine plantations in my youth but it’s now been removed and the natural heathland is rapidly re-asserting itself. I’m pleased to see that natural look but part of me misses the pine trees. My memories are full of the walk through the trees and past a roofed clearing that we used to play in. Even though its better to see the area as it should be, the fact that the trees are gone somehow betrays the memories like it’s just not the same any more. Strange to feel oddly nostalgic about a few lost conifers. Must be my age

Kinver Edges

Kinver Edges

Kinver Edges

Kinver Edges

I must bring the kids back in summer on a hot summers evening to picnic and play football and cricket on the grass like I used to. Then dump them in a beer garden so I can have a couple – times change

Kinver Edges

Kinver Edges

Hope you enjoyed my trip down memory lane 🙂

Posted March 10, 2014 by surfnslide in Family Trips, Walking

Tagged with , , ,

6 responses to “Childhood revisited on Kinver Edges

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kinver Edge eh? You must have told me about this before? More evidence that the brain is going. Looks great. Whilst you’re reminiscing – didn’t we have local pop manufacturers then too? We did: Furnivals of Fleckney – http://www.leicestershirevillages.com/fleckney/gallery,349234.html. Course – you could get Corona then too. And R. White’s. Those were the days.
    Where the rock cottages once family homes?

    Like

    beatingthebounds
  2. I do rather like a nice nostalgic moment.

    My parents hardly ever went into a pub, but I do remember several times on holiday in Ingleton, when I would be left in the car – with the dog – for an hour while they went in for a beer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

