“Now what did I do that weekend?”   8 comments

Playing catch up with my blog posts I found some photos on my camera I’d completely forgotten about. This kind of thing is happening more as I get older. Lack of memory for important things due to space taken up by a head full of pointless trivia. I reckon I could survive without the knowledge of which little known British actor did the Schweppes drinks adverts in the 70’s (it was William Franklyn if you’re interested – I know, unbelievably sad) and use that space to remember, let’s say, what I was doing 4 months ago. Or more importantly by way of example, remember to do my tax return on time and not get fined. I’d pay a kings ransom (well at least £10) to get my hands on technology that would allow access to my brain and delete all this useless information and make room for the important things. A brain defragmentation tool.

Anyway I digress. I discovered photos of a weekend at my parents caravan in Wales that I’d forgotten ever took place. Apart from having a beach fire to toast some marshmallows with the kids on the Saturday afternoon I can remember nothing else about the weekend. Judging by the photos we had quite a nice time and the sun shone.

Before we get to that here are some other photos I’d taken and forgotten, of a rather superb sunset taken from my back garden. You would think such a fiery sky would evoke some powerful memories but alas I have no recollection. Well, that’s the joy of photos I suppose!

Madley, Sunset

Madley, Sunset

Looking at the date and time of these photos it would appear that we took a walk on the seafront in Aberystwyth on the Saturday afternoon. No idea what we did in the morning. Without photos it seems I’m a little lost these days.

Aberystwyth

Aberystwyth

Aberystwyth

Aberystwyth

Later in the afternoon I do remember the beach fire, mainly for the reason of how difficult it is to light a fire on an open beach in the wind. Good fun though and Clarach beach has a huge supply of tinder dry driftwood so once you get it going you’re in the game. The kids enjoyed it and being a bloke of course I had a whale of a time as well – we love playing with fire do us middle aged chaps.

Clarach Bay

Clarach Bay

Clarach Bay

Sunday morning has gone into the recycle bin as well, but Sunday afternoon we must have gone back to Aberystwyth to watch the waves bashing the promenade – well that’s what the photos say.

Aberystwyth

Aberystwyth

Aberystwyth

What a great weekend that probably was or must have been…..

Posted January 3, 2014 by surfnslide in Clarach Bay, Family Trips, Mid Wales, Wales

Tagged with , , ,

8 responses to ““Now what did I do that weekend?”

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh dear and I thought my memory was bad lol I always do my best to get those photos uploaded asap or risk the same amnesia… Lovely photos, especially that fantastic sunset.

    Like

  2. Now I have to say, never mind the weekend, that sunset looks absolutely amazing!

    Like

  3. I always thought you had perfect recall. Well, except when you disagreed with me, or remembered things which should have been airbrushed out. Now you’ll be cast into the same sea of confusion as the………………………………… …………………………….what was I saying?
    Anyway, looks like a top weekend. Fire on the beach – can’t beat it! I seem to remember (but, obviously, could be wrong) that we once favoured a bottle of Lambrusco or two over marshmallows.
    Happy times.
    I think?

    Like

    beatingthebounds

Leave a Reply

