River of Dreams – Tarn Gorge   10 comments

Time to to head for France, or at least it was a few months back – blimey, I am a long way behind

Tarn Gorge

Tarn Gorge

This was the first stop on our usual 3 week trip to France. We normally have a very splendid day walking the Puy de Dome Volcanoes in the Auvergne on our first day but torrential rain washed out that idea. After brief detour up into the hills and along a dead end road courtesy of the Sat Nav we managed a short stroll by the Tarn when the rain finally stopped. It was a grey and cool but great to be out of the car after 2 days crammed in its confines.

Tarn Gorge, La Malene

Tarn at La Malene

Tarn Gorge

Tarn Gorge

We had a pleasant time watching the kayakers negotiating the weir and getting wet. We had our own trip planned for the next day and were hoping for more in the way of sunshine

Tarn Gorge

Ready……

Tarn Gorge

Weir we go…

After a night in La Canourgue we got our wish and the sun shone for the day. We took our usual trip downstream from La Malene to Pas de Soucy, the fourth time we’ve done the trip.

Tarn Gorge

Early Rest

Tarn Gorge

Happy Kayakers

Tarn Gorge, Les Detroits

Entering the narrows

Its a real highlight of our holiday and it wouldn’t feel right not doing it on the way down. The scenery is magnificent, the water clear and refreshing and the sky filled with eagles and vultures.

Tarn Gorge, Les Detroits

Les Detroits

Tarn Gorge, Les Detroits

TJS doing all the work

Tarn Gorge

Anyone for a bungee jump?

Tarn Gorge, Cirque de La Baume

Cirque de La Baume

Swimming, gentle paddling and picnicking is the order of the day, a day filled with a little exercise and simple pleasures. I’ve written the trip up the past two years so you can read some more detail if you’re interested from our days in 2011 and 2012

10 responses to “River of Dreams – Tarn Gorge

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It only seems like 5 minutes since I read last year’s report on the Tarn Gorge! It’s that getting older thing I suppose………

    Still looks rather nice and peaceful mind.

    Like

  2. Like walking into a room, forgetting why you went there, retracing your steps to the room you were in before in the hope that will trigger the reason only to reach that room and forget why you went there…….

    It’s a lovely spot, one of my favorites. Peaceful unless you count the hundreds of other kayakers enjoying the trip 🙂

    Like

  3. some epic scenery there! When we took the van to France last year it was March. And pretty cold (woke up to frost on the van some mornings). I wish we could have gone when it was nice’n and sunny and warm. And perhaps a little further down to come across some of the dramatic gorges you came across. Bet you can’t wait to go back ^_^

    Like

    • Get yourself down to the Massif Central, it’s a fantastic part of France and the Tarn Gorge is spectacular but there is loads of interesting stuff and plenty of peaceful quiet corners (although we’ve only really just passed through). I’d love to spend a proper holiday down there although the campsites by the river are pretty busy

      Like

  4. So much like the Dordogne. Never been to the Tarn though…it looks fantastic. Always envied all those people on the water in canoes – after stepping out the car into baking heat. 😀

    It’s taken me a couple of days to post this – my ipad (which I’ve had to work from for months – hence the recent disappearance from the blogosphere) does not like posting comments on sites although not usually as bad on WordPress. It hates Blogger with a vengeance and I had to give up trying on blogger sites. I don’t think anyone with a blogger site visits my blog anymore…as a reprisal. 😆 Thank God I can get to the PC a bit more these days.

    Like

    • The Tarn is more dramatic than the Dordogne but the latter has more variety with loads of castles, ancient towns and gardens etc. I love both. The kayaking on both is really easy and we all love it although this it pished it down when we did the Dordogne.

      Blogger hates me as well, irrespective of PC or iPad. Never recognizes my WordPress ID and often rejects a comment. I always type comment in notepad first in case it gets lost but I have to say it does put me off commenting sometimes. Never have a problem with the iPad on WordPress though. Cheers for the persistence, I need my followers, especially those I appear to have committed to carrying up a mountain 🙂

      Like

  5. Looks gorge-ous. Can you see what I did there? Great tune too.
    We seem to have embarked upon a sort-of ‘Tortoise and the Other Tortoise’ race. A race to the bottom. A race to find who can fall furthest behind? You can cut the tension with a spoon. A wooden spoon. A particularly blunt wooden spoon which wouldn’t cut anything else at all. I’ve forgotten most of what’s happened since, since….well, since I’m not sure when: I’ve forgotten. Bet I can beat you to the ‘Weekend at Ours’ though!
    (BTW – this is my third attempt at a comment – it seems that at the minute even WordPress hates me. I have been neglecting it I suppose.)

    Like

    beatingthebounds
    • Thought I’d stumbled into the Comedy Store for a moment.
      Still miles behind so reckon it might be Xmas before I catch up (note I haven’t said which Xmas)
      Ken has been having issues with iPad comments on WordPress as well, I just have hassle with Blogger

      Like

  6. What a fun trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

