January on the beach at Rest Bay   4 comments

After all the fun and games of Christmas and New Year the last few days of the holiday are always a bit flat. The guests have gone home (thanks GM for coming to see us) and its time to take the decorations down. What we all need to raise the smile count is a jolly excursion. But where to in the dark depths of January? Why the beach of course! Madness I hear you all cry but not a bit of it. Read on.

Rest Bay

Our nearest patch of sand is on the South Wales coast around Porthcawl. Just up the road is the splendid little beach of Rest Bay. Being on the estuary the water is, well a little, murky but when you have a family the beach is the beach. It’s a nice spot with lots to keep the kids interested with water to dam and razor sharp rocks to come a cropper on.

Rest Bay

Rest Bay

Rest Bay

Despite it being January it was not in the least bit cold and I’m sure I’ve had colder days on the beach in the summer. The kids were well chuffed with this surprise day out on the beach and had a cracking time digging in the sand, making treasure trails and watching the waves crash onto the beach.

Rest Bay

Rest Bay

Rest Bay

At this point I should sheepishly admit the real reason we were here. I had an urge to take the kayak out for a surf and having checked the forecast it looked like conditions would be good. So in reality it was more a case of me saying “I’m off to the beach for some surfing, do you want to come?” than anything else. The waves were indeed excellent and apart from nearly riding my first wave straight onto the aforementioned razor-sharp rocks I had a rather excellent afternoon and caught some superb waves

Rest Bay, Surf Kayaking

Rest Bay, Surf Kayaking

Rest Bay, Surf Kayaking

Rest Bay, Surf Kayaking

Still everyone was happy and during the afternoon the sun even came out. We got some lovely photos of the kids at play and I got some nice video footage of me catching the waves. I have to say it was rather surreal floating in the calm water beyond the waves in the low sunlight in January. The water was cold when I got a dunking but otherwise I was actually quite warm.

Rest Bay
After we’d all had enough (it was pretty much dark by the then) we sat on the wall in the car park with a cuppa watching the sun go down. It really was rather pleasant and surprising to sit outside at this time of year and not be cold. Remarkable (as David Coleman might have said).

Rest Bay
A couple of videos, one of the kids antic and one of mine, hope you like ’em

4 responses to “January on the beach at Rest Bay

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. January Sales – two films for the price of one! Which, considering that the entertainment here is all free anyway, can’t be bad. Hard to believe that you managed to get a reasonable beach day in January – fantastic.
    Enjoyed the films enormously, as ever.

    Like

    beatingthebounds
    • I was as surprised as anyone, even Jane (hard to believe this I know) wasn’t cold – although she did have her full winter ski gear on. Really was surprisingly balmy and the bits of me that were inside the drysuit were warm. Bloody head was cold in the water though, nice reminder that it i was winter

      Like

  2. I have to say I just love beaches on bracing, wintery days! Great stuff 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

