September stroll on Hay Bluff   10 comments

Now I’ve completed my French trip write ups I’ve got to catch up on my haul of posts since early September. Hard work this blogging malarkey; I need to get my blog-life balance sorted 🙂

Hay Bluff

Hay Bluff

In my current job I’m lucky to work right on the outskirts of Bristol near the Severn Bridges. Like the previous year I had grand plans for several evening walks on my way home from the office. However the dismal British summer put pay to that and I never had a chance. Way back in early September we had a spell of warm dry sunny weather (seems a very long time ago now). I was sat working at home as it happened and with a sudden snap judgement I shut my laptop down on a whim, threw some stuff together and jumped in the car for an evening walk. (This rather swift exit led me to forget my camera so the photos and video clips aren’t quite as good as usual as I had to use my phone).

3 miles, 700 feet of ascent

It gets dark a bit early this time of year so I headed up to the high grassy parking area above Hay-on-Wye for a quick jaunt up Hay Bluff. It was pretty much cloudless and the sky a dark clear blue. In a moment of madness I decided to see how quickly I could get up to the top, a short but extremely steep climb of 700 feet.

Hay Bluff

View north from Hay Bluff

Answer = 20 minutes causing me to arrive on the top with my whole body crying out in protest. I had the top to myself and the views were sensational.

Hay Bluff, Lord Herefords Knob, Twmpa

Lord Herefords Knob (Twmpa)

Across the long ridges of the Black Mountains to the distant Brecons and the mid-Wales hills.

Vale of Ewyas

Vale of Ewyas

Hay Bluff

East from Hay Bluff

Hay Bluff

West from Hay Bluff

I’d had an idea that I could also make it across to the wonderfully named Lord Hereford’s Knob (or Twmpa to give it its Welsh name) but a long stop perched on the edge to admire the views with a fresh brew seemed a much better way to spend the evening in quiet reflection.

Hay Bluff

Evening Meal

As I sat there it occurred to me that with a little more grip and a bit of pre-planning I could have put some overnight gear together and spent the night up here. There are enough small patches of grass to throw up a tent and so long as you are away promptly in the morning, no-one is likely to give you any grief.

Still it was a glorious evening and I contented myself with watching the sun set over the mountains.

Hay Bluff, Lord Herefords Knob, Twmpa

Lord Herefords Knob (Twmpa)

I could pretty much see the sun moving down towards the horizon at pace so I thought it best to head down to the Gospel Pass where the road comes through from Llanthony and the Vale of Ewyas. Rather than walk along the road I managed to find a succession of paths that traversed the hillside between the road and the steep flanks of Hay Bluff. I got back to the car just in time to watch the sun set behind the Welsh hills.

Hay Bluff

Sunset on Hay Bluff

Hay Bluff

Sunset

Hay Bluff

Sunset

Much better way to end a Friday that writing my weekly reports 🙂

10 responses to “September stroll on Hay Bluff

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andy, nice report and your photos were still good with some fine views. Rather like you I wanted to do more evening walks after work during the summer, but as you say the weather has been dismal. Better luck next year I hope !!

    Like

    • Thanks Mark. I was so gutted not to get out after work in the summer. I finally lost the will after waking up one morning to cloudless skies so I threw my walking stuff in the car for the evening. It was raining by lunchtime! At least the last few weekends have been good to me so some more sunny day out post to come

      Like

  2. Your phone (and you!) didn’t do so bad! Looks like a great end to a week.
    I also need to find a balance, but more in a blog/work way. Hopefully, I’ll rediscover my mojo sometime soon and get back to posting.

    Like

    beatingthebounds
  3. Looked like a very nice impromptu walk there!
    But what is a mojo anyway?

    Like

    • Sometimes the impulse walk is the best – a stunning evening.

      I think a mojo was one of those 1 penny sweets I used to buy when I was a kid – no idea what Mark’s mojo looks like – not sure I want to find out either 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

