Cotswold Outdoor – Naughty, Naughty!   2 comments

I said I might use my blog to have the occasional rant. Well here’s one.

I went to my local Cotswold Outdoor store in Bristol and noticed a sign at the door stating they will match ANY price and ANY offer. I needed a pair of insoles and was planning a walk later in the day so armed with a printout of the price on Amazon, a third cheaper than in store I went in to put them to the test. I was told that they wouldn’t match against an Amazon price and only against “certain” websites. Seems that Cotswold’s definition of “ANY” is different to mine. I thought this was an opportunity for Cotswold to prove they can be competitive against the online retailers. Not only did they prove that they aren’t, they also seem happy to use cheap gimmicks and tactics to try and get you through the door. I’ve not bought anything from a high street outdoor store for several years and based on this experience I won’t be doing so for a while. Understandable that a high street store has to cover costs that online retailers don’t but that doesn’t mean you have to make promises and offers you aren’t prepared to keep to “appear” to be competitive.

Needless to say I bought the insoles from Amazon, £6 saved and a wait of 48 hours for delivery

I’ve written to the store to see what their response is. I’ll let you know if they respond

Posted May 27, 2011 by surfnslide in Rants

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “Cotswold Outdoor – Naughty, Naughty!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So I guess their answer was…?

    Unusual – I have always found Cotswolds to be better than this.

    Like

  2. Strangely enough they never replied and I couldn’t be bothered to chase them – I found new things to irritate me. I just hate being seduced by cheap marketing gimmicks without substance. It was interesting that the offer had disappeared the next day and has never returned so I might have had a small victory. I used to use them a lot in the old days and they were pretty good but I buy most of my gear online these days. Almost always cheaper.

    Like

Leave a Reply

